Queen’s Nurse Title Returns to NHS Forth Valley

A community nurse who works for NHS Forth Valley has been selected to take part in a special professional development programme to become a Queen’s Nurse.

Joan Gracie, NHS Forth Valley team leader in school nursing for Clackmannanshire and Stirling, is one of 20 nurses that have been chosen to take part by The Queen’s Nursing Institute Scotland (QNIS). On completion of the course they will be the first nurses to receive the title in Scotland for almost 50 years.

Joan, who is based at Clackmannanshire Community Healthcare Centre and lives in Stirling, said the selection process included a day’s interview with other nurses and added: “It’s an honour and a privilege to have been chosen.”

The modern Queen’s Nurses, drawn from Health Boards and other independent organisations across Scotland, will enable teams to promote health improvement and deliver quality care.

“All the nurses who are taking part in our programme have demonstrated their impact as experienced practitioners and clinical leaders,” says Clare Cable, Chief Executive and Nurse Director of QNIS. “Now they want to further enhance their professional skills by really making a difference for Scotland’s communities as Queen’s Nurses.”

NHS Forth Valley Director of Nursing, Professor Angela Wallace explained:  “The shift towards providing more care closer to people’s homes offers exciting opportunities for the further development of community nursing. The return of Queen’s Nurse title is a very welcome mark of professional excellence.”

QNIS was established by Queen Victoria in 1889 in honour of her Golden Jubilee. Historically, the Queen’s Nurse title was awarded to nurses who completed training that equipped them to work in the community. They provided healthcare and health promotion to people in their own homes, and were well respected in the communities in which they practised.

The new Queen’s Nurses will take part in a nine-month programme, developing and honing their existing skills and capabilities, culminating in an Awards Ceremony in December 2017.