Forth Valley Healthcare Heroes Shortlisted At Scottish Health Awards

Two individuals and four healthcare teams from Forth Valley have been selected as finalists at the Scottish Health Awards 2016.

Sharon Coggins, an additional support midwife practitioner has been shortlisted for the Midwife Award, while Charlotte Ritson, a student nurse from the University of Stirling has been named as a finalised in the Young Achiever Award category.

The mental health nurses at Kersiebank and Bannockburn GP Practices and the Perinatal Mental Health Team at Forth Valley Royal Hospital have both been shortlisted for the Care for Mental Health Award.  Fiona Donnelly and the Primary Care Team at HMP Glenochil have been selected as finalists for the Integrated Care for Older People Award.

In addition, a team from NHS Forth Valley was involved in The Safer Prescribing Through Better Use of Data team which has reached the finals of the Innovation Award.

All nominees fought off stiff competition from across the country to secure their place at this year’s glittering award ceremony in November.

Jane Grant, Chief Executive of NHS Forth Valley, said: “We are delighted that six finalists from the Forth Valley area have been shortlisted for this year’s national health awards. This is testimony to the commitment and dedication of our staff and shows how highly the services and support they provide are valued by local patients and their families. Making it through to the final is a great achievement and I would like to wish them all the best of luck at the award ceremony on 3rd November 2016.”

Every year, the Scottish Health Awards recognise and reward the dedicated NHS staff, support workers, volunteers and specialist teams who go the extra mile to provide outstanding patient care.

There are 16 award categories in total, including the Nurse Award, the Volunteers Award, and the Doctor Award, and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 3 November at the Corn Exchange in Edinburgh.

To view the full list of finalists, or for more information, please visit